1. Sri Viswakarma Gayathri Manthra

1. Om virAt purushAya vithmahe

    viswakarmanAya dhImahi

    thanno parabrahmma prachhodhayAth


2. Om panchha vakthraya vithmahe

    virat purushAya dhImahi

    thanno viswakarma prachhodhayAth

2. Gothras and their importance

Many of our community peoples does not know to which gothra they belongs. Without knowing they simply says "shiva" gothra. Truely there were no such type of gothra in our community. There are five major gothras each containing 25 upagothras totally forming 125. The five main gothras depends on the nature of work of our anchestors.


1. SAANAGA RISHI gothra - those were involved in iron smithy

2. SANAATHANA RISHI gothra - those were involved in carpentry

3. ABUNASA RISHI gothra - those were involved in bronze smithy 

4. PRATHNASA RISHI gothra - those were involved in stone work

5. SUPARNASA RISHI gothra - those were involved in gold smithy


Lord viswakarma has five faces called SATHYOJAATHAM facing east, VAAMADEVAM facing south, AHORAM facing west, THATHPURUSHAM facing north and EESAANAM facing up. From these five faces were born the five brammas called MANU brahmma, MAYA brahmma, THWASHTA brahmma, SILPI brahmma and VISVAGNJA brahmma and from these five brahmaas were born the five rishis as described earlier. 


Our gothra should be the primary factor while seeking alliance. People belonging to same gothra must know that they have a blood relationship of sisters/brothers either closely or at a distant. Hence both the life partners should not be of the same gothra. Therefore confirm the gothra before the further proceedings during the marriage. This is a common procedure that must be followed by everyone irrespective of the caste. Unfortunately this is not followed in present days in most of the community except aarusheya brahmins and we, being the true brahmins must follow this and insist our childrens to keep the orthodox values of our community.   

3. Different names of the community

Viswabrahmins are also called as viswakarma brahmins since they have their origin from the

faces of Lord Viswakarma. They are called Panchal which means they are specialized in five different works. They are also called as Rathakarar since they do the chariot for kings. Apart from these the

following are different names all around the country.


In south India

achari, acharya, viswakarma, viswabrahmin, sharma, chari, shilpi, sthapathi, paththar, kammalar etc.


In north India

panchal brahmin, dhiman brahmin, jangid brahmin, ramgarhia, mistry,

maharana, sharma, takhan, kalsi, malik, sonar, swarnakar etc.

4. Yagnjopaveedham/Sacred Thread

Yagnjopaveedham is the symbol of brahmin and is a must one for male. Basically there are two types of sacred threads depending upon the head or the mudichu. Rudra mudichu and Bramma mudichu. It is convention that those who are  followers of adhi shaivam wears the rudra mudichu and one who follows veera vaishnavam use to wear the bramma mudhichu. As viswakarma community were decendants of bramma, all must wear  the bramma mudichu. But most of the people us use to wear the rudra mudichu assuming them as followers of shaivam.


Unmarried man must wear a single headed yagnjopaveedham containing three threads which must be wore at the time of Upanayana. A married man according to vedic principles must wear two headed sacred thread in which one is for upanayana and other for marriage ceremony. But, it becomes a practice to wear three headed yagnjopaveedham containing totally nine threads in which the third one is for  uthariyartham. The reason for that is every one must wear angavasthiram along the same way as the sacred thread pass our body i.e, from left shoulder to right hib. It is called bramma vasthiram. Since every one is engaged in different business, our style of dressing has been changed. In order to compensate for this we use to wear the third mudichu and that is called as the uthariyartham.  

5. Different ways of wearing Sandal for Viswabrahmins

Each gothra in our community has to wear a different sign on their fore head using sandal. These were formulated by KALAHASTHI MUNI who also wrote the Viswsabramma Puranam.
1. Saanaga rishi Gothra 

They are followers of rig veda and they must wear thiripundram i.e, three horizontal thick lines approximately six inches length using the right hang fore finger, middle finger and the ring finger.

  2. Sanaathana rishi Gothra

They are followers of yajur veda and they must wear oorthuvapundram i.e, a single thin line vertically upward starting from the junction of fore head and nose.

  3. Abunasa rishi Gothra

They are followers of sama veda and they must wear varthulakaram i.e, a filled circle centrally on the fore head.

  4. Prathnasa rishi Gothra

They are the followers of atharvana veda and they must wear pataakaaram i.e, a horizontal thick line.

  5. Suparnasa rishi Gothra

They are the followers of pranava veda and they must wear thiripundra ganthakshathai. i.e, a thick line using either middle or ring finger and followed by two lines in that using the tip of small finger which again looks like the thiripundram. In tamil it is called as keeru sandhanam.  

6. Community Temples

Many temples in India belonging to viswabrahmin community were unknown to its host peoples. Though many of it are very oldest and took place in the history of puranas, they were not taken care in right direction. Many temples and their belonging lands were occupied by unknown peoples. Many temples are now in very worst condition and they requires immediate renovation. Almost each town has a temple of viswabrahmin community.


To know more about community temples visit: www.viswabrahmintemples.jimdo.com